The Xhariep District Municipality is “an area of unfound diversity” – as the official slogan of the District Municipality aptly runs.  Lying in the south western Free State, the Xhariep Region, named after the !Gariep Dam, is typically dry and probably the region most likely to fulfill the picture held by many of the Free State as a place of endless space, vast tracts of sheep and cattle farmland, a generous dollop of tranquility, and a part of the world known to few.

Following the establishment of the Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality and the disestablishment of the Motheo District, the Naledi Local Municipality was incorporated into the Xhariep District. Subsequent to the 2011 local government elections, the District Municipality comprises of 4 local municipalities with 20 towns, namely;

  • Kopanong, including the towns of Trompsburg, Edenburg, Bethulie, Phillipolis, Springfontein, Reddersburg, Jagersfontein and Fauresmith.
  • Letsemeng, including the towns of Koffiefontein, Luckhoff, Jacobsdal, Oppermansgronde and Petrusburg.
  • Mohokare, including the towns of Zastron, Rouxville and Smithfield.
  • Naledi, including the towns of Dewetsdorp, Wepener and Vanstadensrus

It has the largest geographical area of districts in the Free State province. The largest dam in SA, the Gariep Dam, is situated at the southern tip of the District. Moreover, 3 National Roads (N1 – Gauteng to Cape Town, N6 – Eastern Cape to Bloemfontein and N8 – Bloemfontein to Kimberley) pass through the District

Xhariep District Municipality Contact Details

Tel:  (051) 713 9300
Fax: (051) 713 0461
P.O. Box 136,

Xhariep District Municipality Tourism

Xhariep District

  • Gariep Dam and resort
  • Annual Equestrian Endurance event at Fauresmith
  • Railroad tracks running through the centre of Fauresmith
  • Landzicht Wine Cellar at Jacobsdal
  • Open Mine Museum and mining hole at Jagersfontein
  • Open Mine Museum at Koffiefontein
  • Transgariep Museum and Laurens van der Post Memorial at Philippolis
  • The ‘Little Gallery’ at Smithfield
  • Gariep Dam
  • The ‘Eye’ of Zastron
  • DH Steyn bridge near Bethulie