Provincial rugby in South Africa refers to the domestic rugby competitions that take place at the provincial level. These competitions involve teams representing different provinces or regions within the country. The two major provincial rugby competitions in South Africa are the Currie Cup and the SuperSport Rugby Challenge. Here is some information about these competitions:

  1. Currie Cup: The Currie Cup is the oldest domestic rugby competition in South Africa, dating back to 1889. It features provincial teams representing different rugby unions in the country. The competition is named after Sir Donald Currie, a philanthropist who donated the trophy.


  • Format: The Currie Cup is contested by 14 teams, including the four South African Super Rugby franchises (Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers) and ten other provincial teams. The teams are divided into two sections, the Premier Division and the First Division.
  • Premier Division: The Premier Division consists of the top eight teams and is considered the top tier of Currie Cup rugby. The teams play a round-robin format, facing each other once. The top four teams advance to the knockout stage, which includes semi-finals and a final.
  • First Division: The remaining six teams compete in the First Division, where they also play a round-robin format. The top two teams from the First Division face the bottom two teams from the Premier Division in a promotion/relegation playoff.


  1. SuperSport Rugby Challenge: The SuperSport Rugby Challenge is a domestic rugby competition that was introduced in 2017. It is considered the second-tier provincial competition in South Africa, providing an opportunity for young and up-and-coming players to showcase their talent.


  • Format: The SuperSport Rugby Challenge features 16 teams, including all the provincial teams and some invitational sides. The teams are divided into two sections, North and South. Within each section, the teams play a round-robin format, facing each other once. The top four teams from each section advance to the knockout stage, which includes quarter-finals, semi-finals, and a final.


These provincial competitions serve as platforms for identifying and nurturing rugby talent in South Africa. They play a crucial role in the development pathway for players, with successful performances often leading to opportunities at higher levels of the sport, such as Super Rugby or international rugby.

It’s important to note that the rugby landscape in South Africa is dynamic, and competition formats and structures may be subject to change. For the most up-to-date information and news about provincial rugby in South Africa, it is recommended to follow local rugby news sources and official rugby union websites.

  • Blue Bulls
    • Pretoria
  • Eastern Province
    • Port Elizabeth
  • Free State Cheetahs
    • Bloemfontein
  • Golden Lions
    • Johannesburg
  • Griquas
    • Kimberley
  • Leopards
    • Potchefstroom
  • Sharks
  • Stormers
    • Cape Town
  • Pumas
    • Mpumalanga Province