Dingleton is the smallest of the 5 towns in the Gamagara Local Municipality and is located in the centre of the mining activities directly south of Kathu. The state-owned mining company Iscor started developing the township, originally named Sishen. The municipal area of Gamagara consists of 5 towns, Kathu, Shesheng, Dibeng, Dingleton, and Olifantshoek, a large farming area and a considerable mining area. The single largest factor that has guided the development of the Gamagara area is the iron ore mine at Sishen. Not only does the mine provide jobs to thousands of people, but it was also the reason for the establishment of the town of Kathu. Kathu is the largest town within the municipality and is also the administrative centre of the Gamagara Local Municipality. Olifantshoek is the second largest town and is of the Gamagara River to the northwest of Kathu.

Return to Northern Cape Towns/Cities.